7 Replies Latest reply on Aug 4, 2016 8:08 AM by roycash

Calculating data between fields in different portals

roycash

I am new to Filemaker and using it for  a research project.  I made a layout with several portals, a separate portal for each of 3 record types. The portals use the same filter to filter records only the rec. type is different.   I then do some calculations in  another portal  on the records in each  portal.  I use get summary to put the results in a calculation field.

A screen shot of the layout is attached.

All that is fine but now I want to be able to do more calculations between the  calculation results  for the individual portals. The calculation results use the same fields but each is local to the portal so I don’t know how to access them. Do I need a script, global variables, something else?   I”m stumped.

If there is something similar in any of the starter solutions please let me know where to look.   They have been helpful.

Thanking you all in advance.

• 1. Re: Calculating data between fields in different portals
          keywords

Are all the portals related to the same underlying table? If so, you may be able to achieve what you want with a conditional calculation.

If not, do they relate to one another, or only the the parent table? In this case you will have to route your calculation(s) through the same set of relationships.

I don't think I can offer any more that that without more detail.

• 2. Re: Calculating data between fields in different portals
            rrrichie

you might need some extra relationships e.g.

you now have

main (tableA)  = relportal (tableB)

add a

main (tableA) = relportal (tableB) = same-record-type-records (tableB)

base the relationship on the filter criteria (record type) ( i guess you have fields for that already)

otherwise make a screen shot of your relation graph.

• 3. Re: Calculating data between fields in different portals
              roycash

oops no attachment in previous msg.