AnsweredAssumed Answered

Database of Customers and Types of Invoices

Question asked by arcphoto on Jul 28, 2016
Latest reply on Aug 1, 2016 by FileKraft

I am somewhat new to FileMaker and have done some tutorials on Lynda.com so have a general understanding of how to navigate and create databases in FileMaker. However, I'm trying to wrap my head around a database I'm creating to manage my clients and the various invoices.

My database involves:

1. Client List

2. Quotes

3. Invoices

a. Deposit

b. Final

My database is currently set up with a Client table, a Quotes table, and an Invoice table. I originally set up my database with Client and Invoice tables only but when I created my layouts, I realized the quotes and the final invoice amounts were often dissimilar (due to changes in scope of projects). Also, upon setting up my layouts, I realized every quote I created could then be viewed as an invoice (and vice versa), which doesn't make any sense. I mean, a quote is a quote and an invoice is an invoice.

Now, I'm encountering the same issues as I now have to create different invoicing options (deposit invoice, final invoice, etc.). If I keep all the values in one Invoice table but use multiple layouts, I can view my deposit invoice as a final invoice, etc., which I don't want to be able to do. So the solution is then to break out my Invoice table into two, one for deposits and another for final.