4 Replies Latest reply on Aug 1, 2016 11:04 AM by TonyDehnke

Report of data from multiple tables

TonyDehnke

So I'm just starting to learn FM and I'm using an idea I have for an app to learn things.

Basically the app has a number of tables for information on various parts of a car, with some tables having more detail.  It uses text fields, numbers, containers and lists etc.

My first goal is to be able to collect that data that the user inputs and create a PDF report of that data.

I'm using multiple tables for different parts, Technician info, Year/MakeModel, Radio etc etc.

I get how to make a report with data from the one table, but what is an efficient way to have it layout the data from each table in the same report PDF?  Once I have that the next step would be to have it skip fields that are empty when generating the report.

Any advice would be great!  Thanks !

• 1. Re: Report of data from multiple tables
          bigtom

You can add fields from related tables to your report. This depends on how your relationships are setup but it is useful.

Just try adding fields from other tables and see where that takes you.

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Report of data from multiple tables
            Johan Hedman

You can always use the script step Save Records as PDF function and use Append to existing PDF. You can read more about that function here:

FileMaker Pro 15 Help 

1 of 1 people found this helpful
            • 3. Re: Report of data from multiple tables
              Vaughan

TonyDehnke wrote:

So I'm just starting to learn FM and I'm using an idea I have for an app to learn things.

Basically the app has a number of tables for information on various parts of a car, with some tables having more detail. It uses text fields, numbers, containers and lists etc.