A Classic Case of 'Never Actually Delete a Record - just tag it is 'ArchivedYesNo = Yes' (or somesuch.)
I'm not sure I fully understand? I have not done anything like you described.
My understanding is:
- you have a record of an Asset. You have a lot of useful information on that record that could be used to calculate cost-savings.
- when the Asset is moved to another site you are deleting the record.
- you could perform the ROI calculation you want, except the record and its data has been deleted.
- So you are trying to capture and store that useful data before the record gets deleted.
My suggestion is to not delete the record - simply tag it as 'Status = Deleted' or whatever. Although it sounds as if simply changing its 'Location' would serve the same purpose. Then you still have all the data you need to perform whatever calculation you want.
Yes, you have the idea.
However, when an asset is moved, deleted or whatever we call it, I don't want the record to be visible to the users anymore.
You can control that many ways; for example, through the Security settings. Have certain Privilege Sets of users only allowed to see records where ArchivedYesNo = 'No', for example. But you, the Admin, could see all records.