10 Replies Latest reply on Aug 8, 2016 8:07 AM by taylorsharpe

How do I view a remote mySQL database using File Maker Pro?

cthomas117

I am quite new to database, so please bear with me.  I have a database that's been created and I'd like to view the results in File Maker Pro; this was suggested to my by a friend.  I can view the result of the database using phpMyAdmin, but it looks incredibly horrible.

I have ti IP address of the server and localhost is 3306.  I have no idea what to do next.

• 1. Re: How do I view a remote mySQL database using File Maker Pro?
          wimdecorte

start here:

https://www.filemaker.com/downloads/documentation/techbrief_intro_ess.pdf

You may also want to get the FileMaker Training Series (Basics + Advanced); they are dirt cheap and are loaded with examples.  The Advanced one has a step by step for setting up ESS in FM.

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: How do I view a remote mySQL database using File Maker Pro?
            beverly

Do you have the login to see the database? Do you have the permission to view besides phpmyadmin?

Sent from my miPhone

• 3. Re: How do I view a remote mySQL database using File Maker Pro?
              cthomas117

Yes I have the login and permission to view the database and phpMyAdmin as this is my project and domain.

• 4. Re: How do I view a remote mySQL database using File Maker Pro?
                David Moyer

HI,

using the aforementioned ESS (external sql sources) is probably what you want.  There is a lot to learn/know here, but the essential starting place for you is to create a DSN that FM can use to connect to your MySQL database.  From there, it's a matter of "adding a new table occurrence to your relationships graph, using add ODBC data source."

• 5. Re: How do I view a remote mySQL database using File Maker Pro?
                  beverly

Do you have the correct ODBC driver for viewing MySQL from FileMaker?

Sent from my miPhone