6 Replies Latest reply on Aug 17, 2016 8:15 AM by jbrown

Select specific value from the checkbox

buntharos

Hi Everyone;

I am new to the filemaker. I want to select the specific value list from checked box. for example

I have a checkbox as beldow that allow user to check only 3 items.

Checkbox

1.Legal Problem

2.Family Problem

3.Health / Disability

4.Personal Problem

5.Need emotional Support

In the report I create calculation fields as below

1.Need support 1 (this is field will view the first checked item from the checkbox)

2.Need support 2(this is field will view the second checked item from the checkbox)

3.Need support 3 (this is field will view the third checked item from the checkbox)

Can you help how write the code in the calculation field to view the value from the checked box?

Thanks

• 1. Re: Select specific value from the checkbox
          jbrown

Hello.

There's a great function called Get Value: FileMaker Pro 15 Help . This will pull values from a list. It does what you've asked for here. For your NeedSupport 1 field, you'd use the calculation GetValue ( CheckBoxField ; 1), and so on.

Keep in mind a few things about check box fields:

1. The check box control adds the values they chose to the end of the list.

If the user selects "Legal" and then "Health" , it will look like this:

Legal

Health

If the user unchecks Legal, that will disappear. If they recheck Legal, then it will look like this:

Health

Legal.

i'm not sure that matters in your case, but it is something to be aware of.

Another thing, the above calculation will return nothing if there's no value in that list position: GetValue (CheckBoxField; 3). If that's okay, then fine. Otherwise you may want to put an If statement around it with a default value (such as N/A) if there's no 3rd value checked. (the Let statement is used and is your great friend)

Let ([

_Value = GetValue (YourTable::CheckboxField ; 3)

];

if (IsEmpty (_Value) ; "N/A" ; _Value)

)