5 Replies Latest reply on Aug 15, 2016 7:52 AM by Mike_Mitchell

Help with data relations

RobThatcher

hello all, I'm looking for a bit of guidance on how to relate my data. Im building a database of experimental data for compounds Iv made. I have one table which contains information about each compound. I then have another table which describes an experiment. For each experiment I test three different compounds, so I have three different sets of fields in the second table (compound 1...3, results 1...3 etc.).

What I want to do is to be able to pull all the data for a specific compound, i.e. generate a new table that pulls the experimental data for a specific compound from all records in the second table.

I hope this makes sense, Im still a newbie with filemaker and maybe not sure how to explain conceptually what I am trying to do.

many thanks!

• 1. Re: Help with data relations
          carlosilvia0

Hi,

can you add a screenshot with relationship and table?

• 2. Re: Help with data relations
            coherentkris

i would suggest that you google data modeling and/or normalization to learn how to properly structure your data.

Their is a wealth of information on how to think about data and optimize it for fitting into an RDBMS.

IMHO this is vital foundation knowledge for any FM developer.

It starts out with taking the statement you wrote and extracting the nouns as a starting point for entities and entities can become tables.

So far you have compounds, experiments, and results.

• 3. Re: Help with data relations
              Mike_Mitchell

Following on what coherentkris has said, your basic data model is flawed. By duplicating the three compounds on the same record, you create reporting headaches for yourself. (You have to find the compound - either relationally or via Find - across three fields every time you do anything.)