2 Replies Latest reply on Aug 18, 2016 5:59 AM by PSI

Import lots of Word Documents to Container Field

kharmon

Hi all,

I work for a company that just bought FileMaker 15. I'm in charge of creating and updating the database; that said I'm a beginner.

I have about 6000 records already with numerous fields. One field I would like is a container field that contains a word document. On our server we have a document associated with each particular record. I would like to create a reference to the document on the server so a user can automatically open the document from the layout. Is there a function or script that can automatically fill each one of these records? One thing that can be of use: each particular document name is the same as the id for the record. For example, 1 of the 6000 documents is called W4532 and the record in FileMaker has a field also called W4532.

I was looking into the function that could be of use but don't know exactly how to incorporate it (again new to FileMaker):

Get(DocumentsPathListing)

Any help would be appreciated,

Thanks

• 1. Re: Import lots of Word Documents to Container Field
          SteveMartino

So your company bought FileMaker and it's connected/or plans to be connected to a server?  And you're brand new to FileMaker?

I'm sure this data is important.  Does your company plan to provide you with training or hire a consultant?

You could script a routine to do this, assuming the documents are numbered correctly and exactly as you say.

I would look into super container:

360Works SuperContainer:: FileMaker Document Storage :: FileMaker Image Storage

It's also possible for you to leave the documents where they are and point to a reference of them.  Hard to say without knowing all about the hardware/software you're connecting to.

But anything with a server, especially if you plan on using FileMaker Server, you should really consider hiring an expert, especially for security.