8 Replies Latest reply on Aug 19, 2016 5:32 PM by philmodjunk

Auto-Complete Lookup

jerrypayne

Hello FM Community,

I have been programming in MS Access for years, but I am new to FM.  My apologies, if i get FM terminology confused...

Q:  i have an 'Equipment' layout with an 'Owner' popup list.  The list provides the owner names to Users, but stores the OwnerID in Equipment table.  I want to update the functionality to 'auto-complete' for the end users.  the rules indicate that i have to convert popup to either an editbox or drop-down list.  i also have to change the type to text.  When i do this, the value that i am trying to store is shown in my list not the name that i want to search.

Is it possible to show the Owner names in the text control while using auto-complete, and store the ID?  do i need to add another control box?

Thanks in advance,

Jerry

• 2. Re: Auto-Complete Lookup
          keywords

Yes. You do this by creating a Value List of owners. The principal field in the list is ownerID, which is the value that gets posted into the field using the list, but you set the list to show the owner name as a second value, and set it to show only that value. That way the user sees the name, but enters the ID.

• 3. Re: Auto-Complete Lookup
            philmodjunk

You might consider inverting this process in FileMaker.

You use an auto-complete value list of just the names, but then use a relationship to look up the corresponding ID. This enables you to have more than one record with the same name but different ID's as you can use a script to handle cases where the selected name matches to more than one record. The ID lookup then enables you to link records by ID as you should.

Adventures in FileMaking #2-enhanced value selection

Has a working example of that and many other ways that you can present the user with a way to pick values from a list.

• 4. Re: Auto-Complete Lookup
              jerrypayne

Thanks philmodjunk,