6 Replies Latest reply on Sep 17, 2016 1:11 PM by philmodjunk

User views only the record with that user's name

nick@cg-masters.com

Good Day.  I am brand new to Filemaker so please bear with me.

I have a number of records.  I would like any given user to only have read access to only one record that has their name.

Can this be done?

If so, please explain.  Thank you

N Boughen

• 1. Re: User views only the record with that user's name
          alangodfrey

In the File-> Manage -> Security menu you can define Privilege Sets, and what each set can do.  You can define that members of a Privilege Set can only see records where AccountName = TheirName (in principle).

• 2. Re: User views only the record with that user's name
            nick@cg-masters.com

Thanks for pointing me in the right direction.  I'll give it a go.

N

• 3. Re: User views only the record with that user's name
              philmodjunk

But that just "covers" the other records with "access denied" screens--not very user friendly. You can make things nicer for your user by performing a find to pull up just the one record.

In fact, once manage security is set up correctly, any find will produce a found set limited to just the records the current user is permitted to view.

• 4. Re: User views only the record with that user's name
                nick@cg-masters.com

OK that makes sense, in theory.  As a new user, I'm a little lost.  Is there a resource that will teach me exactly how to:

-set up manage security correctly

-Perform a find at the time the user logs on so the user only finds the record with their name

-display the found record to the user.

Thanks

• 5. Re: User views only the record with that user's name
                  philmodjunk

First things: