9 Replies Latest reply on Aug 24, 2016 7:55 AM by rzogby

Running lists

rzogby

I have been using Filemaker Pro Advanced for quite a while. I have version 14 and have decided to make my interactive music catalog for customers a bit more interactive. I am new to scripting and have tried to look up various scripting books or sites, but nothing that helps me. I am hoping that this thread will bring out the experts that can help me.

Here is what I want to do. I have created a self running kiosk app for customers to make a list of requests that they would liked played at an event. Currently, they can only scroll down, omit the track they want played, then choose show omitted (I created a button for all these actions), and then export to excel. If they try to search and omit, it doesn't save the one they chose.

What I want to do is have them search for the song using a find button I created, then be able to click a button that would put it on a running list. Then when finished, I want to have a button that shows them the list they created so they can export (currently they CAN do that after they see their omit lists.

Any help would be appreciated. I want to learn how to do it, not have someone do it for me. This way I can see how scripts work. I have worked with limited scripting built into FMA but can't figure out how an entry can be chosen and placed on a running list.

Thanks so much everyone.

Bob

• 1. Re: Running lists
          TSPigeon

rzogby:

Thank you for your post!

I am going to move this thread from the FileMaker Community Feedback Space, which is specifically for input on the Community itself, to the Discussions Space where you should receive even more views and potentially more advice!

TSPigeon

FileMaker, Inc.

• 2. Re: Running lists
            Mike_Mitchell

Hello, Bob.

There are a couple of ways to accomplish flagging a set of records.