8 Replies Latest reply on Aug 27, 2016 1:48 AM by dig

Saving Previous Values

dig

Hello All – I am still learning, as a result I am certain my question has possibly been answered a lot on the forum, the problem is I don’t know what the process or term is for what I want to do so I cannot search for it.

We have heavy machinery, and instead of an odometer we have an Hours meter typically 6 digits long but could be more (we tend to sell them at 10000 hours) this hours meter is how we invoice.

It is critical for us to keep the hour meter records for all plant for all time. In addition we need to keep the data that was changed and by register the person who changed it.

I need to be storing the saving the current once a new entry is entered, but where and how is this best handled?

Would someone be willing to point me in the direction of knowledge to read or create me an example to review so I can learn please?

Thank you.

• 1. Re: Saving Previous Values
          David Moyer

Hi,

I'm sorry that I can't quite understand your needs, but I'm certain that you can use FM to build a record of machines and the numbers on the chronometer/hourmeter over time as the machines are checked in/out.  You might look through a few of the FM "Starter Solutions" (File>New from Starter ...).  You might need to hire someone to build a custom solution.

(p.s. it occurs to me that I might be the only contributor here who owns a backhoe/loader.)

• 2. Re: Saving Previous Values
            PeterWindle

"I need to be storing the saving the current once a new entry is entered, but where and how is this best handled?"

Why not create a new record for every new entry? This is the nature of database systems. If you need the new record to capture the last hrs recorded, there are ways to do this...

• 3. Re: Saving Previous Values
              philmodjunk