7 Replies Latest reply on Aug 31, 2016 7:42 PM by calebhkang

FM 14 Giving permission based on primary key

calebhkang

Hello everyone,

I'm a FM 14 novice here and I've created a database for my church contacts using the starter solution.

So here is my problem:

Each person in our organization is part of a "small group". And each small group has multiple people (reverse is not true).

So I used one to many relationship to join "Small group table" (one) and "contacts table" (many).

"Small group table" contains information of that small group (leader name, start date...) and I use portal to populate the members name and info in that layout.

I would like to give permission to each group leader so that they can see ONLY their group members' information in their group layout.

but I'm not sure how I can do that.

I already have given permission settings that allows them to see only certain parts of data in "contacts table" but giving different permission to different leaders

seems like this requires a whole new approach...

If I create separate table for each group, would that solve the problem? (The problem would be, how do I enter their group info in Contacts layout?)

If that is the way to go, how can I differentiate each group? With different primary keys?

Hope this makes sense and thank you in advance!

Caleb.

• 1. Re: FM 14 Giving permission based on primary key
          dtcgnet

Simple answer: Do NOT create a separate table for each group.

More complete answer: Though achieving this isn't incredibly complex, it does require a bit of complexity. Do you have a privilege set up for users? One for group leaders? Does each group leader have his or her own FileMaker account? When a user logs in, do you have a startup script that "identifies" that user by finding him in the Contacts table and setting a global field to his Contact ID?