9 Replies Latest reply on Sep 20, 2016 6:26 PM by philmodjunk

Query fields and show only updated data

deborabr

Hi,

I am very new to FMP and I created a query to run and show all students name and enrollment information. Now I need somehow to connect that to the database and check if we have any new enrollment entered in the system and only show me the rows that had any updates. How can I do that? Any help is really appreciated.

Thank you!

• 1. Re: Query fields and show only updated data
          philmodjunk

You'll need to describe this in much more detail.

Does this mean that you have two tables, One of "old" data and one of "new" data? And you want to see which records in "new" do not match data in "old"?

Is there a unique ID in both tables to use to match up records for comparison?

If so, I've recently seen a really cool way to compare the data in multiple fields to see if any data is different in any one or more of the fields so compared, but I'll stop here until I get some confirmation that I am understanding what you want to do correctly.

• 2. Re: Query fields and show only updated data
            deborabr

Sorry I am so new to all that and still trying to figure everything! I am importing data from an ODBC data source. I also added a SQL query to pull the information I need. Now I believe I would need to create a script that would compare what we have in FMP to what is in our database and just return the rows where data has been changed. There is a unique identifier that is the Student ID. These are the fields I have student ID, name, school, grade level, entry date, entry code, entry comment, exit date, exit code, exit comment. I only need to check if any of the enrollment fields has been updated (entry/exit date, entry/exit code and entry/exit comment). Any help is really appreciated! Thank you!!!

• 3. Re: Query fields and show only updated data
              philmodjunk

But do you actually have two copies of this data?