13 Replies Latest reply on Sep 20, 2016 9:26 AM by JeffWilson_2

FileMaker 13 vs. 14

JeffWilson_2

We currently have a database hosted on a FileMaker 13 server (Server 13.0v9).

In WebDirect, we're having the well-documented problem with grey text in fields, apparently because as a developer I'm using FileMaker Pro 14 Advanced.

We briefly had this file on a FileMaker 14 server a year ago and encountered problems, which I can't recall now. I think it related to the stability of WebDirect. Looking back at emails, it seems this was about Oct. 1, 2015. That's when we downgraded to a 13 server.

Does anyone have an opinion about the stability of WebDirect on Server 14 in this day and age?

Thank you in advance.

• 1. Re: FileMaker 13 vs. 14
          mardikennedy

FMS 15 seems to be a nice stride forward.  (Any differing opinions out there?)  Maybe skip v14.

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: FileMaker 13 vs. 14
            TSPigeon

JeffWilson_2:

Thank you for your post!

Generally speaking FileMaker Server 15 should be more stable and efficient than FileMaker 13. If the issues you ran into previously were solution specific I can't say if it would work any better for you than 14. For instance, I know 14 and 15 are far more finicky when the Classic "Theme" is being used in the layouts. Something like that would just take some layout development to move forward.

I hope this helps and I'm going to move this thread from the FileMaker Community Feedback Space, which is specifically for input on the Community itself, to the Discussions Space where you should receive even more views and potentially more advice!

TSPigeon

FileMaker, Inc.

• 3. Re: FileMaker 13 vs. 14
              JeffWilson_2

But isn't FileMaker 15 more expensive to implement because of the licensing changes?

• 4. Re: FileMaker 13 vs. 14
                taylorsharpe