1 2 Previous Next 20 Replies Latest reply on Oct 2, 2016 8:16 AM by philmodjunk

Search Pic Report

kentanderson

This is my second Filemaker Database.  Im a Novice.  I have my database working well.  What I need help with is how to search for data related to the PIC field Please see attached.  Basically we change PIC on different Legs.  What I need to be able to do is search every record and show the flight time for a Specific PIC (pilot in command)  Ideally I need to have a report with the PiC's time and date, but for every record.  I'm thinking this needs to be done with some type of relationship table, but I'm not sure.  Please help.  I have 7 total PIC fields per record.

fm1.tifffm2.tiff

• 1. Re: Search Pic Report
          bigtom

Yes. You should be using a table for parent thing (flight?) and a separate table for all the data associated with it.

You might have flight number, name, and date and other totals on the parent and all the other data in a related table (Leg?). This would allow you to do a search for legs.

• 2. Re: Search Pic Report
            philmodjunk

For some reasons, your Tiff images are not displaying in my browser.

But if you have a table of "legs" where each record is one leg of your flight then you can also have a table of "commanders" with a container field for their picture. Then a relationship like this would serve:

Legs::_fkCommanderID = Commanders::__pkCommanderID

Then a list view type report can list each leg record for a given flight and a container field from Commanders can show the commander's picture. _fkCOmmanderID can be set up with a value list for selecting the commander for that leg.

• 3. Re: Search Pic Report
              bigtom

philmodjunk wrote:

For some reasons, your Tiff images are not displaying in my browser.