3 Replies Latest reply on Oct 6, 2016 1:37 PM by philmodjunk

Setting up appointment alerts for a medical practice?

nm181723

Hello!

I am currently working on a database of patients and would like to set up an alert system that notifies us to call patients either 6 months or 12 months after a surgery date.

For example, if I input into Procedure Date "10/06/2016", I would want to receive an alert on 04/06/2016 to call the patient for a 6-month follow-up appointment.

Is there anyone with experience creating this kind of alert system? My guess is that a script of some sort would be needed. I'm a beginner when it comes to Filemaker, so any advice would be appreciated.

Two conceptual designs that I have thought of are:

1) Exclamatory icons that appear next to a patient's name when it is time for their 6 month/12 month follow-up

2) Pop-up window when you open the database that gives a list of patients that need to be notified for their follow-up

• 1. Re: Setting up appointment alerts for a medical practice?
          philmodjunk

How about an email produced once a day, or once a week listing all patients that need to be notified?

Your approach requires that someone actually review a list on the screen and spot those that have a visual alert next to their name.

You can set up  a calculation date field such as:

If ( Not IsEmpty ( FollowUp ) and Not Notified ;

Date ( Day ( apptdate ) ; Month ( Apptdate ) + FollowUp ; Year ( apptDate ) ) )

Then a script can, on a regular schedule, perform a finds specifying criteria in this field to find patients that need to be notified and you can set the Notified field to 1 or True to clear this field to indicate that they have been notified. FollowUp would be either empty, 6 or 12 in order to calculate no follow up, a 6 months follow up or a 12 months follow up

• 2. Re: Setting up appointment alerts for a medical practice?
            nm181723

This is a fantastic solution, I appreciate it.