14 Replies Latest reply on Jan 21, 2017 9:30 AM by BenToronto

Filemaker 12 and Sierra...seems to work but objects moved on screen

bsibley

I am a teacher using Filemaker 12 for grades, printing report cards, class organization things.  Our district is upgrading to Mac OS 10.12 - Sierra.

In testing our template, things seem to be fine except on one screen.  I have some boxes/rectangles surrounding text.  The entire layout  is grouped together and locked, however, several of the boxes moved to a different place on the screen.

Any idea why this would happen?  I don't like the idea of redoing many templates to fix this, but maybe you all can help so I don't have to do this again in the future.

thanks, in advance, for any ideas you might give!

• 1. Re: Filemaker 12 and Sierra...seems to work but objects moved on screen
          andypieman

I'm not sure you'll ever get any coherent answer about this. Filemaker's stance is that FM 14 isn't tested against Sierra, never mind 12. I personally can't think why this would be the case, but in my time with FM, I have realised that not everything that happens with Filemaker is logical and fully in the hands of the developer.

If you have found that your V12 systems generally work under Sierra, that's a positive. If there are just a few niggles, try implementing them in a slightly different way, they may then work. In certain situations, I've found that a simple pause script for 0.1sec has fixed problems, even though there is no logical reason why it should.

• 2. Re: Filemaker 12 and Sierra...seems to work but objects moved on screen
            schamblee

Issue can occur when using old software with new OS.    It would be recommend to upgrade to FM15  FileMaker Pro 15 Technical Specifications | FileMaker

• 3. Re: Filemaker 12 and Sierra...seems to work but objects moved on screen
              andypieman