4 Replies Latest reply on Oct 14, 2016 12:45 PM by philmodjunk

Suggestions for avoiding a Relationship Loop

kenljames

I'm fairly new to filemaker and working on a pretty complex app and have ran into my first big problem. Looking for advice on how to solve it in the best way using filemakers strengths.

I have a "Lead Capture" screen where a tenant leads contact information and housing criteria will be entered. On that layout I'd like to have a portal that filters all of our current rental listings by the leads criteria (# of beds, # of baths, price, school district... etc).

The Lead's Criteria fields are all in the Lead table. But the information to match it are not all in one table. Bedroom and Bathroom information is in the Unit table, Current listing price is in the Listing table (which relates to a single unit via a foreign key), and school district is in the property table ( which relates to one or more units via foreign keys).

An obvious solution would be to put all the criteria I'd like to match against into the listing table, but that creates redundancy in data entry. I'd rather our employees not have to re enter all the unit information everytime they create a listing when that information is already inside the database.

THANK YOU for any advice or help! If my problem isn't clear please let me know and I'll try to upload a visual of the problem!

• 1. Re: Suggestions for avoiding a Relationship Loop
          philmodjunk

You would appear to have these relationships:

Listing>---Unit----<Property

Unit::__pkUnitID = Listing::_fkUnitID
          Unit::__pkUnitID = Property::_fkUnitID

Is this correct?

If so, a portal to Unit can be set up with a filter expression that filters for values in Unit, Listing and Property.

• 2. Re: Suggestions for avoiding a Relationship Loop
            kenljames

Table Occurences on Lead Capture Screen.png