5 Replies Latest reply on Oct 28, 2016 8:53 AM by LabsRock

FM database/data gathering app on iPad.

mthornbury

My wife, the teacher, wants an app that can be used to capture data 'in the field', literally.

The school iPads are wifi only and the kids will be outside of Its range, so the app will need to be self-contained with regards to holding the data, at least until it can be sync'd back at school.

The data structure is simple - 18 fields, a mix of text and numbers, with a container used to hold a picture taken with the built-in camera.

i have it all, working in FM Go, while tethered to the MacBook I used to create it on FM14, but I don't seem to be able to work out how to run the data capture side of things while away from wifi.

is this possible, or am I confused?

Ive tried to find a guide but haven't had much luck.

I'm not a programmer, but have forty years of systems engineering, including databases, comms, etc. and am confident I can get it to work, if it's possible.

Any advice gratefully received, including recommendations of different packages, if FM isn't up to the task.

regards,

Mike

• 1. Re: FM database/data gathering app on iPad.
          LabsRock

Hi Mike,

If I understand what you are describing correctly, it should work just fine.  However, I'm not sure what you mean by you're not able to "run the data capture side of things while away from wifi."  Are you able to open the database and do some data entry but not able to capture the pictures?  Or are you unable to do any data entry from the iPads?  Once you have local copy setup on the iPads there is no need for wifi.

Craig

• 2. Re: FM database/data gathering app on iPad.
            mthornbury

Hi Craig,

thanks for the reply. I suspect it is just as you say, I need to enable local copy. That looks like the answer to my problems. I will dig into that.

Again, thanks. I was sure this was the right app for what she wants to do, but being a novice had hit the wall .

regards,

mike