1 2 Previous Next 19 Replies Latest reply on Oct 18, 2016 1:32 PM by ezeitgeist

Count flagged records

ezeitgeist

I searched the archives and found some sort of similar discussions, but not exactly.

Essentially, I have a table of records that are User generated. As admin, once I have seen and dealt with the submitted record, I have added a checkbox marking that I have dealt with it. I'd like to set something up where it counts the number of records that I have NOT dealt with yet (ie. has an empty "Admin dealt with" field rather than the "1" assigned when checked). How exactly do I do this? I'm just learning the Count function but it seems to only apply to counting ALL records. I am likely just confused on proper use.

• 1. Re: Count flagged records
          philmodjunk

Count does not count all records. Like any aggregate function it has three contexts in which it can be used:

Count ( RepeatingField ) -- the original method counts each repetition of the field that is not empty.

Count ( Field1 ; field2 ; field3), counts the number of fields in the list that are not empty

Count ( RelatedTable::Field ) count the number of related records where field is not empty.

and there is a corresponding "count of" summary field that can count the records where the specified field is not empty across the current found set.

So either method can count records where the field is 1, not records where the field is empty. To do that, you could count all the records and subtract the count of records where the field is set to 1.

ExecuteSQL might also be used to count the records where this field is Null.

• 2. Re: Count flagged records
            coherentkris

ExecuteSQL ( "SELECT COUNT ( the_field ) FROM the_table WHERE the_field IS NULL" ; "" ; "" )

• 3. Re: Count flagged records
              ninja

I tend to do this periodically as well...

I simply do a find for the flagged records, then "show omitted only".