8 Replies Latest reply on Oct 21, 2016 2:34 PM by mw777rcc

Displaying unmatched records in same layout

scoot_ya_boot

I'm pretty new at FileMaker. I understand the concept, but I have a question that's bugging me.

I'm working on a database to track shipments, when and how much is received, and to show the amounts still in transit.

The setup is the Shipping table, with the Received table related by a concatenation of the SKU and Invoice number, which creates the unique match. I have no issue with getting the amount shipped and received to populate if the correct item is received. However, if we invoice or ship the wrong item, there's no match...  Is there a way to show these unmatched records?

Just for an example, we ship SKU 8001, on invoice 1001, and the match record on the Shipping table is now 80011001. However, they received SKU 8002 on invoice 1001, and match record on the Received table is 80021001... I'd like to be able to see that we invoiced them for the wrong item, and that they received the right item. Right now, it just looks like the invoice is still outstanding. Is this possible in the same layout?

• 1. Re: Displaying unmatched records in same layout
          philmodjunk

First, there's no need to concatenate if the only reason is to match records. You can modify a relationship to match by more than one pair of fields so you can match records by Invoice and SKU fields in the same relationship.

Extending that idea, you can set up a relationship using the = operator to match records by invoice, but using the ≠ operator with the SKU fields to match to all records with the same invoice but not the specified SKU.

I rather suspect that this won't work for you however if you list more than one SKU on a given invoice as it would match to other SKUs that were ordered and shipped correctly that just don't happen to be the SKU specified.