1 2 3 Previous Next 35 Replies Latest reply on Oct 31, 2016 10:30 AM by greatgrey

Writing loop in script

sam0723

Hello everyone, i am new to filemaker. Recently, i am writing a script of copying data from other table.

Here is part of my script

loop

set variable[$s1 ; Value: first name]

set variable[$s2 ; Value: lastname]

Go to record[next; exit after last]

end loop

Go to Layout

new record

set field

so my question is how could i copy several records in the table A and copy this to table B?

• 1. Re: Writing loop in script
          Johan Hedman

Best thing is not to copy things from one table to another, better to have a relationship between the two tables.

If you really need to copy data from one table to another here is how I would do it

Go to record (first)

Loop

Go to layout (Table1)

Set Variable ( $Field1 ; Value1)

Set Variable ( $Field2 ; Value2)

Go to layout (Table2)    

Create new record

Set Field ( Field1 ; $Field1)

Set Field ( Field2 ; $Field2)   

Go to layout (Table1)

Go to record (next, finish after last)

End Loop

Read free FileMaker Training Series to learn more about FileMaker

FileMaker Training Series | FileMaker

• 2. Re: Writing loop in script
            sam0723

Thank you Johan. I agree with you. the user would like to transfer the data of sibling to a new student so that they don't require to enter the data of his/her family again. Is there any better method i could use instead of writing a script to copy the data?

i am using filemaker 14

• 3. Re: Writing loop in script
              philmodjunk

Use two tables in a relationship. Put data that will be the same for all siblings in a Family table with one record per table. Put data unique to each sibling in a related table with one record for each family member. Link the two tables by family ID.

• 4. Re: Writing loop in script
                sam0723