8 Replies Latest reply on Oct 27, 2016 7:08 AM by leviileka

unchecking checkboxes

leviileka

Hello guys, I am new at Filemaker pro, this is my first week working with filemaker. I have challenge on scripts.

I am trying to create a script that can stop notifying people about someone's birthday once they resign from their workplace. i have a birthday remainder checkbox field where you click if you are to notify people about birthdays. I want this checkbox to only be clicked on the employees

record, not on the ex-employee record.

• 1. Re: unchecking checkboxes
          GAmstutz

You didn't say, but I'm assuming you probably have a field that indicates "Active Employee" or "Ex-Employee" for each record (or something similar), or perhaps even a termination date to determine if that person is an ex-employee.  You can either make "Birthday Reminder" checkbox set with an optional "Auto-Entry" calculation that is based on the status of the field that determines whether that person is an active or inactive or ex-employee, or you could attach a script trigger to the employment status check box or popup menu (or termination date edit field) that, when changed, automatically checks or unchecks the "Birthday Reminder" checkbox.  There's another dozen or so ways to do this, too (including server side scheduled scripts, etc.), but the suggested I listed above are probably the easiest and most popular two ways to handle problems like this.

• 2. Re: unchecking checkboxes
            leviileka

Thank you, i will try it out and get back to you

• 3. Re: unchecking checkboxes
              richardsrussell

Let me back away from the specifics of the problem just a bit and ask a couple of policy questions.

(1) Do you want to send this birthday notification to every employee as a matter of course, or only to employees who specifically say they'd like to know this kind of info about their co-workers?