4 Replies Latest reply on Nov 2, 2016 11:21 AM by fmpdude

Data Storage

sam0723

Hello everyone, i am new to filemaker. i would like to ask a question about the data storage.

For a database, it will store much data and the number of records will increase annually or several months.

So my question is, for the normal practice, do the database administrator make a copy for example annually and delete all the records in the database so that the database will not accumulate too much data and run much faster?

• 1. Re: Data Storage
          Mike_Mitchell

In general, no. FileMaker is capable of handling significant data loads when configured properly, and the number of records will typically affect only some operations (such as summary / aggregate processing). Without knowing more details of exactly what you're planning, it's hard to make any specific recommendations.

But in general, making a new copy of the database every year is harmful for reporting and searching purposes; it's hard to get a report of multiple years or look back through the archives. (Not to mention you have to maintain multiple files and consume more server capacity.)

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Data Storage
            sreese

We have multiple tables with tens of millions of records. Sometimes we run into problems where we have done something wrong with the code or don't have things indexed properly, but our solution runs quick most of the time.

Every now and again we'll find a script that hasn't been properly configured and it'll cause a slowdown. In particular one of the previous designers loved to use loops, but was really bad about checking for the number of records first or for errors. Looping through every record on a 34,000,000+ record table can slow the system down for everyone.

Just be sure to include things like if (get (lasterror) does not equal 0) and do some sort of error capture, and script escape.

• 3. Re: Data Storage
              philmodjunk