11 Replies Latest reply on Nov 2, 2016 2:46 PM by dtcgnet

Pattern Count, Nested IF Statement Calculation Clarification

lindseym

I checked out this thread, https://community.filemaker.com/thread/75773?q=Pattern%20Count%20-%20If%20statement  it gave me a better understanding, but I am still having issues.

I have a column titled Space

Space can contain a number of values for example, but all instances are separated by a dash, the order of the values could be in any random order: Bldg North-Level 2-Quantrant Beyond the Trees

What I want:

If Space contains the word Level; get everything (excluding the first space) after the word Level until you reach a - , if Space does not contain the word "Level" return TBD (highlighted)

Because I am still learning I started to build my calculation one step at a time

I began with an if statement & pattern count:

If ( PatternCount ( Space ; "Level" ) ; "Yes" ; TextStyleAdd ("TBD" ; HighlightYellow ))

I am able to get the response "Yes," however, I there is no "Level" I am getting an empty (blank) value

my second question, what would be the best way to parse the level # (or value after level).

Files attached if needed.

Thanks

-L

• 1. Re: Pattern Count, Nested IF Statement Calculation Clarification
          philmodjunk

Your calculation does not return any text other than "yes" as that is all you specify in the calculation.

Use the position function instead of pattern count. It returns 0 if the specified text is not found, but returns the position of the text if it is found where pattern count does not return this needed info.

There are then a number of other functions that can be used with this, such as Middle and Right that can be used to parse this text.

If you have FileMaker Advanced, you might check out text parsing custom functions on a site for sharing them such as Brian Dunning's site as there are some good ones there that already combine several Filemaker Functions into a single call to parse text.