9 Replies Latest reply on Nov 4, 2016 3:01 PM by jfletch

1 File with multiple tables (1 to 10) split them out into 10 files with 1 table ea

rchapelle

I am new to FM. I have been asked to look at spitting a large file with 10 Tables into 10 Files each with 1 Table.

My question is will I have to update the programs to direct a data call to a specific File/Table/Data Element when I split out the 10 Tables to reside in 10 Separate files or is this a function that FM will provide to the program automatically?

• 1. Re: 1 File with multiple tables (1 to 10) split them out into 10 files with 1 table ea
          philmodjunk

A more important question needs to be answered first:

Why are you making this change--which will complicate your design in a number of ways.

What problem is being solved by going back to a FileMaker 6 or earlier approach to data modeling?

• 2. Re: 1 File with multiple tables (1 to 10) split them out into 10 files with 1 table ea
            rchapelle

Thanks for your quick response - let me try to answer your very reasonable questions.

While I have a technical background this is my first introduction to FM - first day. Making the 1/10 split to 10/10 split is my first task. My question was intended to know if someone had done this before and if so to gain general direction on the approach

A more important question needs to be answered first:

Why are you making this change--which will complicate your design in a number of ways.