3 Replies Latest reply on Nov 11, 2016 1:57 AM by erolst

Invoice Database Line item presentation

sam0723

Hello everyone, i am new to filemaker. I am developing an invoice database. Here is the situation.

My idea is creating 4 tables. Invoice table, invoice line item table, line items details table and a client's table.

the relationship is invoice-->invoice line item,    client-->invoice,   invoice line item<-- line item details table.

The layout should be something like the attachment.

The most difficult thing is the description part.

The invoice template of the client divide the description into several parts, for example, part one, part two and part three.

For example

Part one fruit

apple                               4        50

orange                             5         60

Part two Meats

chicken                           10      100

beef                                  2         50

My question is how could i present the data in this way, i have considered using portal, but one problem is if i use conditional value list

it might present like

fruit     apple   4    50

fruit    orange   5    60

meat   chicken    10   100

meat   beef           2      50

fruit, meat, apple are store in the line item details table.

so it may not be the layout the client's want.  Then i have another idea, so i need to have a summary report. The portal could be the data entry page. I need to create another layout for the reporting. then the report should be based on 1 client and using food catagory as the break field to present the data.

I am wondering is there any good method to present my data?

i am using filemaker 14

• 1. Re: Invoice Database Line item presentation
          akhlaq38