9 Replies Latest reply on Nov 13, 2016 7:02 PM by sam0723

Conditional Value List

sam0723

Hello everyone, i am new to filemaker. i am working on conditional value list. After setting up, some of the data represent '?'.

Does anyone know why some of the data show '?'

i ma using Filemaker 14

• 1. Re: Conditional Value List
          rrrichie

? is show for a number of reasons :-)

1. if the data in a field does not fit, make the field larger on the layout

2. when data type doesn't correspond, text in date field or not right format.

3. result of executeSQL.  Meaning the query has an issue.

and probably more I can't think of right now.

You say "some" of the data, so my quess is the system you setup works except sometimes it doesn't fit, so it would be number one.

• 2. Re: Conditional Value List
            sam0723

Thank you. May be my description is not clear enough. it is a text field. Some of the data contain few characters like text here could not be shown. It should be something wrong in my relationship or set up of the conditional value list?

• 3. Re: Conditional Value List
              philmodjunk

There are a number of ways to set up a conditional value list. It's usually set up such that a relationship controls which values appear in the list.

Thus, please describe exactly how you have set up your value list, the options in Manage | Value List, the relationship used and how you set it up on your layout.

• 4. Re: Conditional Value List
                sam0723

i have a list to store the data. For example Product table with category and name of product. I link the product table to the invoice line item table. Also, i create a product Selected by category table and link the catagory field of these two table. So the portal of line item is something like,

Product

category      name

fruit              apple

meat            beef

after i choose the catagory which is value list including all category data in product table.