8 Replies Latest reply on Nov 14, 2016 5:29 AM by macfiles

Corrupted files?

macfiles

I'm new to FileMaker and I've been working in filemaker to create a database for my job. I'm using the template "Invoices" to create what I need.

The problem is, I can work days or hours on a file (almost complete it) and it just stops. It brings up the circle loading symbol on the mouse pointer and won't load. I've tried opening it on different computers and it still won't open. I'm using FM Pro 13. I've tried saving it as a compacted copy and that one eventually does the same thing. This has happened more than 4 times now.

Does anyone know what might be happening or what I'm doing wrong?

• 1. Re: Corrupted files?
          coherentkris

You should get advanced and run a recover on the file and check the recovery log file.

If it in fact corrupted then you should figure out why (running virus scan on the file while open, running backup on the file while open, opening the file within dropbox, etc)

You might want to install a development copy of FMS and do your development on that as it provides for automated backups and consistency checking among other things

• 2. Re: Corrupted files?
            macfiles

I did try to recover the original file and the copies as well.. same outcome. I can't update to the newest version because I do not have clearance to be an admin on my computer. I tried running a virus scan. :/

I'm at a loss..

• 3. Re: Corrupted files?
              gdurniak

It could be many things

Have you tried calling FileMaker Tech Support ?

greg

> I'm new to FileMaker

It brings up the circle loading symbol on the mouse pointer and won't load

• 4. Re: Corrupted files?
                taylorsharpe