1 2 Previous Next 16 Replies Latest reply on Nov 22, 2016 10:33 PM by sam0723

Time dependent of currency

sam0723

Hello everyone, i am new to filemaker. i am working on the currency of the invoice database.

My client would like to have a currency depends on the time. For example, they will use that currency rate for calculation for one week. For next week, they would like to use another currency rate.

My question is : is it possible in filemaker, setting the time dependent field or they need to input the rate manually everytime?

• 1. Re: Time dependent of currency
          Mike_Mitchell

The real question is, where do you get the "currency rate"? Are you talking about an exchange rate? Or is this something that is actually cyclical - you can predict ahead of time what it will be?

• 2. Re: Time dependent of currency
            David Moyer

Hi,

one part of your solution might include a "public table" - this is a table with a single record and non-global fields for "public" data ... like the current rate of the week.  This table is connected to your other table(s) via a cross-join relationship.

All this does for you is allow you to populate a single field (e.g. WeeklyCurrencyRate) which can be accessed by all users, all week.  How you go about populating this field is still a question.

• 3. Re: Time dependent of currency
              sam0723

yes. The exchange rate. The user will get the data from the web once a week.

• 4. Re: Time dependent of currency
                sam0723

Thank you, i think it is close to the solution to my question. how could i set up the field, get the information from the net. but the exchange rate will change everyday

• 5. Re: Time dependent of currency
                  keywords