6 Replies Latest reply on Nov 17, 2016 3:27 PM by jeffsb

Is there a logic field type in FileMaker?

jeffsb

In Microsoft Access there is a logic field type that is marked true or false or can display as simply a box that is either empty or checked. I'm new to FileMaker and would like to know how to accomplish something similar with the available field types. I am with a nonprofit and for example when someone contacts us we would have a check box if the person happens to be imprisoned, or whether a donor has been sent a thankyou note -- that indicates yes or no or true or false. Any suggestions about how to accomplish this would be appreciated!

• 1. Re: Is there a logic field type in FileMaker?
          David Moyer

Hi,

I simply use 1 and 0 for true and false.

If 1 same as If 5=5 same as If 7>4 same as If IsEmpty("")

If 0 same as If 5=4 same as If 7>9 same as If IsEmpty("x")

p.s. no, there is no Boolean data type for fields in FM, even though there's a GetAsBoolean function, which I find redundant.

• 2. Re: Is there a logic field type in FileMaker?
            beverly

there is a number field "formatting" that can show boolean labels and/or can be checkbox formatted or radio button formatted (using a value list).

I typically use the number field as checkbox (so it can be turned on/off - or true/false) with a value list of "1".

I change the size of the field so that the label of "1" is not shown, but place the name of the field or a text label to match your criteria.

I prefer the number '1', so that it can be counted and summed if needed.

beverly

• 3. Re: Is there a logic field type in FileMaker?
              David Moyer

just in case it's not clear from the above posts, use a Number field for Boolean needs.

• 4. Re: Is there a logic field type in FileMaker?
                BruceHerbach

FileMaker does have a True and False function.  So you can use set field and set a Field to True or False and it will get a value of 1 or 0.