9 Replies Latest reply on Nov 15, 2016 4:19 PM by JulioSandoval

Tabs In List View

JulioSandoval

Hello,

I am fairly new to FileMaker and I have designed an Inventory Management DB.

In one of my layouts, I have a list of the current inventory.

The layout is configured as a List View layout.

I have 2 Groups of multiple tabs which show details of the item being viewed.

One thing I have noticed is when I switch tabs on the selected record, ALL of the tabs in the list also switch.

e.g. If I have 3 Tabs: Info, Details, and Notes

If I switch to the Details Tab, the rest of the records in the list view also switch to the Details Tab.

Is there a way to make sure that only the record I am viewing in the List View switches tabs?

Thank you all for your help.

Cheers.

• 1. Re: Tabs In List View
          philmodjunk

to do that, you would need to use Form View, not list view. Tab controls just aren't designed to work well in typical list views.

How are you using tabs in that list view? There may be an alternative approach to get the same results without using a tab control.

• 2. Re: Tabs In List View
            JulioSandoval

Screen Shot 2016-11-15 at 1.25.48 PM.png

As you can see in the image above, there are multiple tabs. Each tab shows details for that particular item.

Other than just showing basic information, and having the user select the item for further details, what other ways can this be done?

Thanks.

• 3. Re: Tabs In List View
              philmodjunk

Yet what you show looks like a form view rather than list view--especially given the navigation buttons shown.

Why is it necessary to use form view for this?

List Views more often than not (and there definitely are exceptions) present rows of data to the user in a tabular format where each row of data is a different record. That does not look like what you have here.

• 4. Re: Tabs In List View
                JulioSandoval