1 2 3 Previous Next 61 Replies Latest reply on May 18, 2017 2:42 AM by montegoulding

LiveCode for FileMaker

IanRenwick

Some of you, like me, may be old enough to remember Hypercard which was an free application that came with the first Macintosh computers. As a teacher I found this a simple programming environment to use with students. LiveCode is a mature development from the original HyperCard and runs on all major operating and iOS systems.

I've been playing around with LiveCode - more off than on - for a few years and have watched it continue to evolve. So I was very excited to receive an email today announcing LiveCode for FileMaker (beta). At this stage you need a Mac and FM v15 but they will be releasing it for Windows soon.

I've downloaded it and had my first play. Knowing the rich development environment that LiveCode offers, it has got my mind spinning....

https://filemaker.livecode.com/?utm_source=Livecode&utm_campaign=6cf30f2fa2-EMAIL_CAMPAIGN_2016_11_15&utm_medium=email&utm_term=0_20838f6df2-6cf30f2fa2-35078421LiveCode for FM – Two Worlds. Infinite Possibilities.

• 1. Re: LiveCode for FileMaker
          beverly

keep us posted, Ian!

There is a free trial and the web site has a lot of information. HyperCard and AppleScript had some scripting similarities.

beverly

• 2. Re: LiveCode for FileMaker
            philmodjunk

What a "blast from the past" moment for me.

When I first acquired a copy of FileMaker (version 2.5, flat file...), I had just completed a class in creating Hypercard stacks and my first thought when I started to work with it was: "this is a lot like hypercard, but not as powerful."

• 3. Re: LiveCode for FileMaker
              Draco

They have prices, ... by users?, ... what is this !!

Livecode is programming language !!, there is no user limit.

Livecode for FM, ... NOT is livecode.

• 4. Re: LiveCode for FileMaker
                IanRenwick

Hi Draco,

You are correct...it is NOT programming directly in LiveCode.