4 Replies Latest reply on Dec 5, 2016 2:18 AM by markpelleymounter

notes - wanting an auto enter date/time stamp &

ajcvet

notes - i'm fairly new to fm15.  I'm wanting to have a notes field in my contacts file.  id like to be able to click an "add note" button which would auto enter a date & time stamp as well as the user name with the curser in place to start typing a note.  i'd like to have the previous notes saved and moved down so the latest note is at the top.  I've tried searching and found a few suggestions but cant't seem to find a script that works.

also, i found a suggestion which states: You may also wish to set the field to : List ( <the calc> ; MyNoteFIeld ) this way it will build up your note field. and the most current note is at the top.   Where would i "set" this field selection ?

thanks a bunch in advance

anton

• 1. Re: notes - wanting an auto enter date/time stamp &
          beverly

Notes like this should be a related table and placed in a portal (sorted by date descending). It allows the auto-enters you need.

See other threads for add new portal rows (pop overs, etc. ) if you do not wish to allow records to be created in the Portal.

Sent from miPhone

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: notes - wanting an auto enter date/time stamp &
            markpelleymounter

I agree with Beverly.  Notes should be a related table, related by your ClientsID primary key,  With timestamp on creation and Account Name on creation fields.

The way I commonly do this, is it to have a button 'New Note' on the client layout with a script along these lines:

Set Variable [$clientID ; Value: Clients::pk_ClientID]

New Window [Style:Floating Document; Name; "Notepopup" ;Height: 600; Width: 800; Top: 200; Left: 200]

Go To Layount ["Note Creation" (Notes)]

New Record/Request

Set Field [Notes:fk_ClientsID; $clientID]

Then on your "Note Creation" layout, have two buttons, one labelled "Save" with a 'Close current window' script step