4 Replies Latest reply on Nov 25, 2016 8:33 AM by philmodjunk

Version Contrôle for FileMaker Project

hasnaaech

Hello every one, i was wondering how a group of developper can work on the same FileMaker database, i think it's important to have a tool

that we can use to manage version for a filemaker project. So my question is what is the form of this tool and how we can do that since we have only one binary file?

thanks in advance

• 1. Re: Version Contrôle for FileMaker Project
          David Moyer

Hi,

I don't think FM has any of the version-documenting tools that say, .NET has.  Sadly, I've never had any co-developers to have a need for this.  Fortunately, somebody else will probably chime in soon and provide more help (it's a holiday here today).

• 2. Re: Version Contrôle for FileMaker Project
            macwombat

Its just my opinion, and I'm no expert, but I think the tool will only be as good as your company's procedures and culture.  An FM database is as good a tool as any for tracking version changes.  Without good management and processes it can be a real nightmare.  I worked in a multi developer environment where this was a problem, but it wasn't the tools that were the issue but the processes.  If the management of your company see the importance of managing versions properly and documenting changes clearly then I reckon you could just as easily use an FM database as the tool for managing it.

Not sure this helps, but you hadn't had any answers, and I think it is an important topic that you have raised.

• 3. Re: Version Contrôle for FileMaker Project
              coherentkris

Implement a sound backup strategy.

Always develop on FM server.

If you have to go to a more traditional dev/staging/prod strategy then careful deployment planning is a must.

You have to reconcile schema differences before you try to move data.

Its not easy but it can be done.

• 4. Re: Version Contrôle for FileMaker Project
                philmodjunk