1 2 Previous Next 16 Replies Latest reply on Dec 5, 2016 4:18 AM by wimdecorte

Configure Windows Server 2012

dejosejimpaul

I've just installed Windows Server 2012 and I would like to try FileMaker Server. I would like to know how to configure this server from the ground up to run FileMaker Server. What roles I need to add, what options I need to setup, etc. I'm just new to this and not well experienced in server environment.

• 1. Re: Configure Windows Server 2012
          wimdecorte

That is a very generic question and not easily answered in a forum like this.

Since this is for testing, let the server at its 'plain vanilla'.  No need to add roles, the FMS installer will add them when it needs it.

If you want to use the FMS web publishing you could consider adding the IIS role first, but don't configure it in any way, just leave it as the core installer leaves it.

If you leave the Windows firewall on, you'll need to punch a hole for port 5003 at the very least so that users can open the hosted files.  More ports are needed if you want to access the admin console remotely.  Google 'ports used by filemaker server'

• 2. Re: Configure Windows Server 2012
            taylorsharpe

https://fmhelp.filemaker.com/docs/15/en/fms15_getting_started.pdf     

This has all the details you need to set up FileMaker server.  It actually is really easy and if you just choose the defaults, you can set it up without really knowing anything and it'll work.  Obviously it helps to do some extra work on security like getting the SSL certificate installed, and scheduling backups, etc.  Probably the biggest challenge to newbies is making sure that nothing else touches the live FileMaker database files such as virus scans, indexing, backups, etc.  For backups, only use FM's backup process.  Even snapshots are not safe without pausing the database. 

• 3. Re: Configure Windows Server 2012
              dejosejimpaul