8 Replies Latest reply on Dec 9, 2016 8:47 AM by philmodjunk

Calculation dependent on an empty field

makj1

Good afternoon FM community,

I'm fairly new to FM here (using Pro 14 with a hosted DB) and would like some help with a Calculation I'm trying to get correct. I have a field that will do a calculation based off other fields in the table.

Specifically I'd have Field A, B, and C in a Calculation looking something like this: ((Field A-Field B) x .01 )x 5 x Field C x 10,000 =

This Calculation works just fine but the issue we're having is when Field C does not have a value. The Calculation will return a 0. While this answer is correct, a "0" in this field actually means something different to the operators that use the database so I'm looking for a way for it to display nothing of the referenced field C is empty. Is this best done by an If or Case function? Thanks in advance for any help here!

• 1. Re: Calculation dependent on an empty field
          philmodjunk

Yes, If or case could be used here:

If ( Not Isempty ( Field C ) ; ((Field A-Field B) x .01 )x 5 x Field C x 10,000 ; "" )

If you change "if" to "case" in the above example, you'll be using a case function instead of IF to get the exact same results. You can also omit the ; "" at the end and still get the same results.

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Calculation dependent on an empty field
            erolst

makj1 wrote:

I'm looking for a way for it to display nothing of the referenced field C is empty. Is this best done by an If or Case function?

I always use Case() so I don't have to ask myself that question … ( Case() can do everything If() can, but not vice versa).

It doesn't matter “in this case” anyway since there is only one test:

Case (

not IsEmpty ( fieldC ) ;

( ( fieldA - fieldB ) x .01 ) * 5 * fieldC * 10,000

)

where the empty result for the case that fieldC is empty is implicit.