14 Replies Latest reply on Dec 12, 2016 10:39 PM by dallaskruse

Portal won't display text input field

dallaskruse

I'm a second day user of FileMaker. I took a Lynda.com course and I'm learning FileMaker. So, forgive my ignorance.

I'm a band manager.

I'm booking Events with clients.  I'm trying to add the musicians and tech that will be on the specific gig. 

I have an Event Info page. Inside a portal I've created a tab called "Musicians" and I'd like to add the people I'm hiring for that gig.

I've added a text field borrowing from my Band/Tech Table/Field.

I have made sure that there is no "Hide Objects" created in the Inspector for said field.

I can't seem to figure this out. Which leads me to believe my Relationships are setup wrong.

When I click on Browse ... the text field disappears.

I'm attaching a screen shot of my relationships section if thats of ANY help.

Thanks for any advice in advance.

• 1. Re: Portal won't display text input field
          keywords

Re: "When I click on Browse ... the text field disappears."

One possible reason for this behaviour is that the relationship is not set to allow creation of records. When this option is selected a portal will include a blank row. If it is not selected and there are no related records the portal will be empty.

Screen Shot 2016-12-12 at 1.35.28 PM.png

• 2. Re: Portal won't display text input field
            dallaskruse

The problem is, is that I have created records for the fields I'm trying to create. So, in my Filemaker, I have already created records for individual musicians located within the proper Fields.

As for "creating new records" ... I'm not looking to create NEW records. I'm looking to be able to ADD musicians already in my system to the Event I'm creating.

I hope this makes sense.

• 3. Re: Portal won't display text input field
              philmodjunk

Your basic relationships with event set up as a typical join table between client and band tech.