8 Replies Latest reply on Dec 13, 2016 10:28 AM by JammieSchmunk

Sharing a database

JammieSchmunk

I have a trivia question... I am a novice user who has built a solution for our small business. Now that it's coming into the final stages I would like to have it hosted somewhere so our other employee can test it out in the field. I have FM 15 and if I understand correctly, that would require us to purchase a license. There are 2 of us at this point, is there not another option?

Thanks for your feedback.

• 1. Re: Sharing a database
          wimdecorte

At a minimum you'll need another license of FMP15 for the 2nd user.  You can then use your copy of FMP as the host under what is called 'peer-to-peer' hosting.

But that is not ideal.  To make it work you will need to:

- keep the file itself on your computer, don't copy it to a network place (certainly don't use something like dropbox to share the file)

- you will have to have the file open in your copy of FMP to act as the host

- the 2nd user MUST use 'open remote' to locate your copy.  The 2nd user should under NO circumstances be able to find and open the file any other way.  if they can then OS-level file sharing is active on the file's location and there is no faster way to corrupt the file.

You could consider FM Cloud or another 3rd party cloud host company.

• 2. Re: Sharing a database
            JammieSchmunk

Thank you. We have used 'peer-to-peer' but the other employee will now be out in the field using the solution meaning we will not be on the same network.

The FM Cloud or other 3rd party is for FM 14 or older unless we want to buy license for 0-5 users which is very expensive for a small business like ours. I was hoping there was something else available that is more economically feasible.

Thanks again!

• 3. Re: Sharing a database
              wimdecorte