7 Replies Latest reply on Dec 21, 2016 2:51 PM by breeanne

Applescript: Create a series of subfolders based on variable names

breeanne

Hi,

Goal: Export container fields with images in a defined folder structure with a script. The script needs to create the folders, so: AppleScript..

I have zero experience with AppleScript, but did some reading yesterday and today to try and wrap my brain around it... I reviewed a bunch of examples online and started building the AppleScript to do what I need, and got it to work to create 1 folder and 1 subfolder within the folder, but I don't understand the syntax enough to modify the file path to continue to add the next level of subfolders I need.

I have a table that has photos in a container field, and 4 other fields, each specifying the name for folders (if required, so some records may only have Folder1 and Folder2 populated, etc.). Folder 4 is a subfolder of Folder 3, which is a subfolder of Folder 2, etc. I also created $Folder to be "Exported Images" so, technically there are 5 potential folders.

Here is my AppleScript so far:

//Exported Images Folder

"set theOutputFolderPath to path to " & "desktop" & " folder" & ¶ &

"set theNewFolderName to " & Quote( $Folder) & ¶ &

//Folder1

"set theOutputFolder1Path to (path to " & "desktop" & " folder as text) &" & Quote( $Folder) & ¶ &

"set theNewFolder1Name to " & Quote( $Folder1) & ¶ &

//Folder2

// This is one place where I'm stuck... I need a way to add folder1 to the existing outputfolderpath but I can't understand the syntax...

"set theOutputFolder2Path to (path to " & "desktop" & " folder as text) &" & Quote( $Folder) & ¶ &

"set theNewFolder2Name to " & Quote( $Folder2) & ¶ &

//Creates Export Folder

"tell application \"Finder\" " & ¶ &

//if doesn't exist, make folder

"if (exists folder (theOutputFolderPath & theNewFolderName as string)) = false then make new folder at theOutputFolderPath with properties {name:theNewFolderName} " & ¶ &

//Creates Folder1