9 Replies Latest reply on Dec 30, 2016 7:45 AM by philmodjunk

Scripts for a find using two fields

kentuckyfmp

Hi

I have a single table with 1000+ records and 10 fields including a Size field and a Colour field.

There are no related tables.

I need two separate scripts please:

1.  To find all records with a given size and a given colour.  eg size 3 and Red

2.  To find all records with a given size but NOT to include up to three colours. eg size 4 but NOT Green, Blue or Yellow.

The end result is to be used for producing labels to attach to products. I can manage the labels part of the script but the Find has me baffled.

I've searched all documentation that I have and looked up numerous websites but cannot find any examples to adapt.

I should add that I'm new to both Filemaker and scripting. (I am familiar with MS Access and used their query system for such tasks as this. NOT SQL).

Many thanks in anticipation.

Gordon

• 1. Re: Scripts for a find using two fields
          erolst

The first Find is:

Enter Find Mode

Set Field [ YourTable::size ; 3 ]

Set Field [ YourTable::colour ; "Red" ]

Perform Find

The second one could be scripted as:

Enter Find Mode

Set Field [ YourTable::size ; 4 ]

New Record/Request

Set Field [ YourTable::colour ; "Green" ]

Omit Record

Duplicate Record/Request

Set Field [ YourTable::colour ; "Blue" ]

Duplicate Record/Request

Set Field [ YourTable::colour ; "Yellow" ]

# [ the above could (and would) be written as a loop ]

Perform Find

2 of 2 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Scripts for a find using two fields
            kentuckyfmp

Many thanks my friend

First one works perfectly.

Don't really understand the line re the Loop in part 2 and what does the # sign signify please? Is it a comment?

Cheers

Giordon

• 3. Re: Scripts for a find using two fields
              erolst

kentuckyfmp wrote:

what does the # sign signify please? Is it a comment?

Yes.

kentuckyfmp wrote: