14 Replies Latest reply on Jan 2, 2017 3:29 PM by Malcolm

Upgrading / maintaining database

avallejo

Hi all.

Consider the following scenario.

I have set up a database, uploaded to the server, have about 5 people acessing it via intranet on desktops and iThings.

Now I want to make modofication to the database, alter some layouts and maybe adding some, and even maybe including new tables and fields.

What's the best course of action? This is my first serious multiuser database, and I'm no pro, just a doctor running this db in our small community hospital...

best 2017 to all!

Andre

• 1. Re: Upgrading / maintaining database
          philmodjunk

I'm going to run over a list of methods here in brief. You can websearch and forum search on each or you can ask for more detail from me on any of these:

1) Consider changing your database over to a data separation solution. Scripts, layouts, etc are in one file. All your data is in another file. With this approach, you can make updates to the interface file (the one with the layouts) and when you are ready, you just replace the current interface file with the new.

There's a relatively simple method that you can use to split a one file solution into data and interface files.

2) Data separation reduces the problems that can occur when updating a file but does not eliminate them. Sometimes, you have no alternative but to:

a) close or block access to the hosted file so that no more changes can be made to it

b) take a clone (empty of data) copy of your new version and use import records to import all data from the current working copy into this clone. Update any serial number settings at the same time to avoid getting duplicate serial numbers after the new copy goes back into use. This entire process can and should be scripted to avoid mistakes and should be tested on back up copies before you do it with the current copy of the file.