1 2 Previous Next 16 Replies Latest reply on Jan 1, 2017 4:57 PM by BruceRobertson

Two parents, one child

darg

Hello guys! I wish to everyone a happy new year.

I am new to FM. I'm trying to create a Diary. I have the following tables:

Diary --< StudyLog >-- StudyPart >-- StudyContent

In my diary Layout, I have a portal. Through this portal I want to:

• Create new records to StudyLog, StudyPart, StudyContent
      • IF there are existing records to StudyPart or StudyContent I want to keep those the same!

Example: I create Day: "1/1/17". Through the Day's portal, I create

StudyLog: "Log #: 1, Time: 9:00, Duration: 1hr"

StudyPart: "StudyPart: Chapter 1, Chapter Title: Coulomb's Law"

StudyContent: "Title: Quantum Physics, Author: ..., Type: Book"

In the same Day, through the portal I want to create:

New StudyLog

Same StudyPart

Same StudyContent

When I write the StudyPart and it exists, I want it to auto complete. Same for the StudyContent.

I tried to make it as simple and compact as possible. If you need pictures or anything else, please tell me. I would appreciate it if anyone could help.

Thank you so much!

Again, happy new year!

• 1. Re: Two parents, one child
          philmodjunk

You've set up StudyLog as a classic join table between two tables, Diary and and StudyPart. That's generally a good thing and fits what you want to do here.

How much of this do you have working?

Can you create new StudyLog records in the portal? (Enable create for stdLog in the stdPart to stdLog relationship)

Have you set up _fkstdPartID with a value list that allows you to select the desired StudyPart? (This requires a "use value from field" value list where the values are drawn from the stdPart table (__pkstdPartID is field 1, PartTitle is field 2).

Or do you just need help setting this up so that you can make a second entry that copies the value of the previous StudyPart's __pkstdPartID into the same field of the new record?

• 2. Re: Two parents, one child