1 2 3 Previous Next 35 Replies Latest reply on Jan 26, 2017 12:49 AM by behedety

Sort a layout with specific alphabetic order ?

behedety

Hi everyone,

I'm also quite new to FileMaker and had to learn on my own so not quite good with Scripts and everything yet.

I'm working on a lexicon for a dead language and would like to be able to sort my entries according to a specific alphabetic order but can't figure out how to do it. I tried with a "Value List" but it's not working and I'm not knowledgeable enough with the "Scripts"

There is also a catch since the "alphabet" we are using makes a difference with capitals ("A" and "a" are not the same letter).

So is there a way to sort all my entries by this kind of order? :

"A, j, a, w, b, p, f, m, n, r, h, H, x, X, ..."

Thanks a lot for the help !

P.S. for those wondering, it's called "transliteration", which is to convert in roman letter a text that is in a different writing system, and what I'm working on is ancient Egyptian.

• 1. Re: Sort a layout with specific alphabetic order ?
          JackRodges

One side method would be to create a word list and assign each word a sort order. You can update the value in the sort order field using replace and incrementing the values by 10 or 100 allowing the insertion of new words.

Old list

Replaced

You could also create a sort field using code or char and substitute with an initial space

substitute(text

; [ "A" ; " 001" ]

; [ "j" ; " 002" ]

etc

)

Now your calc word would be < 001 004 033 0123>  etc. which might sort ok and avoid the text problem

• 2. Re: Sort a layout with specific alphabetic order ?
            philmodjunk

Hmmm, maybe a "sort field" that's actually a calculation with a result type of number. Use a custom function to replace each character with a two digit numeric value and then concatenate a fairly large number of trailing zeroes, but in a manner that adjust to produce each number with the same number of digits...