14 Replies Latest reply on Jan 22, 2017 3:37 PM by philmodjunk

Contacts groups

sanpanza

I am new to FM but when I try to import "Groups" from my "Contacts" data (CSV) I don't see a way of importing the groups. Once I do how do I integrate the right contacts are in the right "Groups"?

• 1. Re: Contacts groups
          philmodjunk

Of course you can, but in order for anyone to provide specifics, you'd need to provide more detail on the data that you want to import.

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Contacts groups
            sanpanza

OK, I am a first time user. I exported my Contacts data to a vCard then converted my vCard to an Excel CVS . My contacts are sorted into groups in my contacts program and I need to create the same Groups in FM as easily as possible.

Do I make any sense?

EDScreenshot 2017-01-22 12.54.59.png

• 3. Re: Contacts groups
              philmodjunk

Are you importing one group at a time or multiple groups?

If importing one group at a time, you can assign the set of newly imported records all to one group.

Does your data include a field that identifies the groups?

If so, then you can use the data in that field to assign your imported contacts to groups.

• 4. Re: Contacts groups
                sanpanza

I imported everything already and the "categories" field did not allow my to create a field on import. Should I start over?

Is there a tutorial online that can guide me?

Ed

• 5. Re: Contacts groups
                  philmodjunk

Do you have a field in your imported data that identifies the group for each contact?

If so, then most of the work is already done.

• 6. Re: Contacts groups
                    sanpanza

Yes.

Screenshot 2017-01-22 13.23.33.png

• 7. Re: Contacts groups
                      sanpanza

The categories don't seem very organized. When they came over they were formatted automatically.

• 8. Re: Contacts groups
                        philmodjunk