3 Replies Latest reply on Jan 23, 2017 8:03 AM by philmodjunk

Newsletter subscription management via FM 15 Pro Advanced - stuck on list of issues per subscriber

argoron

I am trying to manage subscriptions and distribution of newsletter issues via FM 15 Pro Advanced.

The problem I'm facing is on the following point: inside the layout for each subscriber I'd like to include a list of all published newsletter issues,
      and see whether the subscriber has received or not each individual issue.

I have three tables - Subscribers, Issues and Mailings. The latter is a join table between Subscribers and Issues and has the following fields:

• SubscriberID (link to Subscribers);
      • IssueID (link to Issues);
      • MailingDate

That table will give me the issues that the subscriber has already received, but I do not know how to also get hold of the issues the subscriber has not yet received. I'm quite new to FM and any help on this would be greatly appreciated.

• 1. Re: Newsletter subscription management via FM 15 Pro Advanced - stuck on list of issues per subscriber
          philmodjunk

You've gotten off to a good start, but here's a way to re-arrange these tables in a relationship that will list all issues and then an object in the portal row can indicate whether or not that issue appears in the join table for a given subscriber.

Subscriber::anyField X Issues|All::anyfield

Issues|All::__pkIssueID = Mailings|All::_fkIssuesID AND

Issues|All::gSubscriberID = Mailings|All::_fkSubscriberID

You can put a portal to Issues|All and get a list of all issues. You can place a picture object--such as an image of a "tick mark" in the portal row and give it this Hide Object When Expression:

IsEmpty ( Mailings|All::_fkIssuesID )

The final details:

gSubscriberID is a field with global storage. It needs to be assigned the correct value via a script. You set up the OnRecordLoad trigger to run this simple script: