10 Replies Latest reply on Feb 5, 2017 5:43 AM by beverly

Custom function from C program

juegofono

Hello everybody,

I'm new in creating custom functions. So my question is:

Can I translate the source code of a C-program to a filemaker custom function and - if yes- how can I do this?

Anybody tried this?

• 1. Re: Custom function from C program
          beverly

You should be asking questions in the Discussions space. Perhaps TSPigeon or TSGal can help you move the post there?

my answer: it depends. I've been able to take JavaScript and "translate" for FileMaker functions and turn into Custom Functions and/or scripting. If you understand the logic of custom functions and what the C-program is doing then perhaps.

if the code is short, you may wish to post it here. remember that the functions have limited connection to outside-FileMaker actions. Plug-in development, OTOH, may be more what you wish to study (start on this page):

FileMaker Pro and other Computer Software Technology | FileMaker

(specifically the "FileMaker Plug-in Support" section - follow all the links!)

beverly

• 2. Re: Custom function from C program
            TSPigeon

juegofono:

Thank you for your post!

You can always move a post via the "Move" action in the top right of a Thread you create. I will go ahead and move this one to Discussions (as beverly suggested) so that you might receive more views and further feedback.

TSPigeon

FileMaker, Inc.

• 3. Re: Custom function from C program
              jbante

As Beverly already said, it depends. Certainly, the logic from a C function (or any other programming language, for that matter) can be translated to FileMaker. FileMaker is Turing-complete, so it's theoretically capable of any computation any other language is capable of.