1 2 Previous Next 22 Replies Latest reply on Feb 6, 2017 8:20 PM by JackRodges

How did you learn?

BillR_1

I've taken a few training seminars, I'm working my way through the Filemaker Training Series, I've watched hours of online tutorial videos. Yet I still struggle to solve problems in the three fairly simple databases I've created, and often can't figure out the right formula or relationship to use. I'm wondering how the experts on this forum learned Filemaker. Were you self-taught? Did you learn on the job next to others who were more experienced? I'm struggling to be successful at database design.

Thank you.

Bill

• 1. Re: How did you learn?
          fmdeveloper25

I started working with FileMaker over 15 years ago and started with the VHS tapes from Video Professor, IIRC.

Going through the various templates FileMaker and others offer is also a good way to learn now.

Happy Learning,

Tim

• 2. Re: How did you learn?
            greatgrey

One of the big things in any computer programing is understanding Boolean logic. All testing for do you, do this or do that is based on it. OR, AND, NOR, NAND, NOT, TRUE, FALSE, etc.

• 3. Re: How did you learn?
              philmodjunk

Let's see:

Got a BS. in Computer Science

Learned how to use Appleworks on Apple II series computers...

Took a class in Hypercard

Then discovered FileMaker 2.5 more years ago than I care to remember.

Since then it's been learning by doing and learning from others here in the forum, but note that I had a major leg up in the knowledge and skills that I acquired before I even knew about this thing called FileMaker Pro by a company named "Claris" (back then) even existed.

• 4. Re: How did you learn?
                JackRodges

Every night I would spend half hour reading manual. After four times I began to know an answer.

plus I would try and fail as there was no one to ask

• 5. Re: How did you learn?
                  greatgrey

A lot time reading the help file.