9 Replies Latest reply on Feb 7, 2017 1:25 AM by philmodjunk

AutoGeneration of Invoice Number

sam0723

Hello everyone, i am new to filemaker. Recently, i am working on the invoice database.

The invoice number is in the following format, T1234-AA01-I01

where T1234 is the combination of T and C1234(client's number).

AA is the type of invoice, there are 4 of them AA, BB, CC, DD and the 2 digits are the type number.

The final symbol is Invoice number "I" and the 2 digits are the invoice number.

The combination of all the segments are the final invoice number we would like to generated.

i think it is not possible to auto-generate the number as the type really depends on the user selection.

For the first part, T1234. It could be generated by "T"& filter(client's number ; "0123456789")

For the second part, it is selected by the user.

My question is for the third part, how could it be automatically generated with respect to the same client.

For example, client A with client's number C1234 could have several invoice number, T1234-AA01-I01, T1234-AA01-I02, T1234-AA02-I01,

T1234-BB01-I01.

i am using filemaker 15.

• 1. Re: AutoGeneration of Invoice Number
          greatgrey

Take a look at the "SerialIncrement"  function. Once the first number is made it will make the next number.

• 2. Re: AutoGeneration of Invoice Number
            philmodjunk

I strongly recommend that you NOT use this value as your primary key to link to other records in relationships. Use just an auto-entered UUID or serial number as your primary key.

Either do not use this method at all or only use it as a "label" field in the invoice table.

And note that you will have to take extra precautions in order to avoid getting duplicates if it is ever even remotely possible that two users might create invoices for the same customer at the same time.

• 3. Re: AutoGeneration of Invoice Number
              sam0723